Mayfield Cubs Recognized by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation


From left to right: Mia Maalouf ’22, Le Anh Metzger ’22, Chloe Marick ’22, Hannah Sherman ’22. Photo courtesy of Mayfield Senior School.

Mia Maalouf, Chloe Marick, Le Anh Metzger, and Hannah Sherman were all recognized by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation for excellence in the PSAT/NMSQT (Preliminary SAT/ National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test). 

The National Merit Scholarship Program is a competition for students attending U.S. high schools to provide financial aid for college. High PSAT scorers may be designated as Commended Students or Semi-Finalists who can then apply to become Finalists. Among the Finalists, about 7,500 students are selected to become scholarship winners. 

While those who are not selected as winners do not receive scholarships from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, they may be invited to apply to certain scholarships sponsored by businesses and companies. 

Congratulations to these students, and best of luck to Chloe Marick and Hannah Sherman as they apply to become Finalists!